current date time

Page Updated on 16 Feb 2018

FAQ - Frequently Ask Questions

What is the IMF?

The IMF, in cooperation with the governments of Australia and Japan, has been administering IMF Scholarship Programs for Asia since the 1990s. The objective of the programs is to enhance the financial and economic policymaking capacity of governments in Asia and the Pacific to promote high-quality and sustainable growth in the region.

Who belongs to the IMF?

The Board of Governors, the highest decision-making body of the IMF, consists of one governor and one alternate governor for each member country. The governor is appointed by the member country and is usually the minister of finance or the governor of the central bank. All powers of the IMF are vested in the Board of Governors. The Board of Governors may delegate to the Executive Board all except certain reserved powers. The Board of Governors normally meets once a year.

Who runs the IMF?

Adopted at the United Nations Monetary and Financial Conference, Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, July 22, 1944. Entered into force December 27, 1945. Amended effective July 28, 1969, by the modifications approved by the Board of Governors in Resolution No. 23–5, adopted May 31, 1968; amended effective April 1, 1978, by the modifications approved by the Board of Governors in Resolution No. 31–4, adopted April 30, 1976;

Where does the IMF get its money?

The International Monetary Fund, or IMF, promotes international financial stability and monetary cooperation. It also facilitates international trade, promotes employment and sustainable economic growth, and helps to reduce global poverty. The IMF is governed by and accountable to its 189 member countries.

What is SDR?

The SDR is an international reserve asset, created by the IMF in 1969 to supplement its member countries’ official reserves. As of September 2017, 204.2 billion SDRs (equivalent to about $291 billion) had been created and allocated to members. SDRs can be exchanged for freely usable currencies. The value of the SDR is based on a basket of five major currencies—the US dollar, the euro, the Chinese renminbi (RMB), the Japanese yen, and the British pound sterling.

© Copyright 2018 IAP-Intensive Care Chapter,India